Buy traffic for your website

Kohli, Dhoni and Rohit retained; KL Rahul and Rashid Khan, the surprising releases

All the eight franchises have released the players they want to retain and there are some surprising inclusions and omissions. The big names Kohli, Rohit and Dhoni have been retained once again by their respective teams. The surprising releases are Rashid Khan and KL Rahul who played for Sunrisers and Punjab Kings last season.

Here is a list of all the players that have been retained by their franchises:

Chennai Super Kings:

Players retained: Ravindra Jadeja (16 Cr), MS Dhoni (12 Cr), Moeen Ali (8 Cr), Ruturaj Gaikwad (6 Cr)

The first three retention picks were pretty obvious for the defending champions. But the big surprise is that MS Dhoni is the No. 2 pick with the price of 12 crores, behind Ravindra Jadeja. It is believed that Dhoni himself requested the Chennai management to not pick him as the first choice due to concerns over his future.

Ruturaj Gaikwad has been rewarded for his orange cap winning season as he has been retained for 6 crores. Gaikwad is also tipped to become the future captain of CSK after MS Dhoni retires. Moeen Ali was also retained ahead of the likes of Sam Curran, Faf du Plessis and DJ Bravo.

Kolkata Knight Riders:

Players retained: Andre Russell (12 Cr), Venkatesh Iyer (8 Cr), Varun Chakravarthy (8 Cr), Sunil Narine (6 Cr)

Last season's runner up KKR has also retained 4 players. Explosive all-rounder Andre Russell, who had a disappointing season last season, is their first-choice pick. Venkatesh Iyer was instrumental in KKR reaching the finals this year, excelling with both bat and ball. But he is a surprise pick considering he only had one good season.

The spin duo of Varun Chakravarthy and Sunil Narine were also retained for their good performances. Shubman Gill and Dinesh Karthik were the notable omissions for the Knight Riders.

Delhi Capitals:

Players Retained: Rishabh Pant (16 Cr), Axar Patel (9 Cr), Prithvi Shaw (7.5 Cr), Anrich Nortje (6.5 Cr)

The Delhi Capitals continued to back Rishabh Pant with a first-choice pick once again. He led the team to a third-place finish in this year's IPL. Axar Patel who recently took a 5-wicket haul against New Zealand was retained for 9 crores after some brilliant bowling displays.

Prithvi Shaw was retained as a long-term option for a decent 7.5 crores. Anrich Nortje was retained ahead of Kagiso Rabada and Ashwin after some brutal fast bowling displays in the last two seasons.

Shreyas Iyer was the surprise exclusion as he wanted to take part in the auction after losing the captaincy to Pant.

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Players Retained: Virat Kohli (15 Cr), Glenn Maxwell (11 Cr), Mohammed Siraj (7 Cr)

Royal Challengers have made some straightforward retentions in Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell. Kohli had a drop in his price tag as RCB have decided to retain only three players and he cannot get more than 15 crores. Kohli will not be leading the side as well from next season as he gave up the captaincy of RCB and India.

Maxwell finally came good in the IPL scoring 6 fifties last season. As a result, RCB has decided to retain him for 11 Cr which is actually lower than the 14.25 Cr he received last season.

The third retention pick has been a point of debate, with the likes of Chahal and Siraj tipped to get the spot. The RCB management has opted for Mohammed Siraj, considering Indian fast bowlers will be at a premium in the auction.

Mumbai Indians:

Players Retained: Rohit Sharma (16 Cr), Jasprit Bumrah (12 Cr), Suryakumar Yadav (8 Cr), Kieron Pollard (6 Cr)

The Mumbai Indians have made some surprising picks. The obvious ones were Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah. But Suryakumar Yadav and Kieron Pollard get the nod ahead of Ishan Kishan and the Pandya brothers.

It was believed to be a toss-up between Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan and Kishan was rumoured to be the front-runner, but Suryakumar Yadav was picked. Kieron Pollard is an absolute steal at 6 crores.

Punjab Kings:

Players Retained: Mayank Agarwal (14 Cr), Arshdeep Singh (4 Cr)

The Punjab Kings have let go of their captain, KL Rahul after the player was reluctant to continue with the franchise despite support from the management. Mayank Agarwal was their first pick with an amount of 14 crores.

Punjab had an array of uncapped players in Sharukh Khan, Ravi Bishnoi and Arshdeep Singh. Eventually, they went with Arshdeep Singh who has performed admirably for the last two seasons.

Rajasthan Royals:

Players Retained: Sanju Samson (14 Cr), Jos Buttler (10 Cr), Yashasvi Jaiswal (4 Cr)

Jos Buttler was a certainty after his exploits in the T20 World Cup this year. But he wasn't the first choice pick as after long negotiations Samson was retained for 14 crores.

Yashasvi Jaiswal was the surprising pick after he played some good knocks in the second leg this year. Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes have not been retained owing to concerns over their availability.

Sunrisers Hyderabad:

Players Retained: Kane Williamson (14 Cr), Umran Malik (4 Cr), Abdul Samad (4 Cr)

The Sunrisers made some brave calls, releasing Warner, Rashid Khan and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar who have been the core of the team. Skipper Kane Williamson was their first choice pick with a price of 14 crores.

They have gone with two uncapped players in Umran Malik and Abdul Samad. Samad has shown glimpses of his talent in the last two years while Umran Malik has shown his deadly pace.

Rashid Khan has been released after there was a disagreement between the management and the player. Rashid wanted to be the first choice pick but the Sunrisers wanted Williamson for that role as there is a difference of 4 crores.

The two new teams Lucknow and Ahmedabad can now retain any three players that have been released.

1 comment
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter